The SITA Council plays a significant part in the overall governance of SITA

As a member-representative body, the SITA Council has the role of representing and safeguarding the interests of SITA's membership with the right of final approval over specific, important matters relating to the high-level direction of SITA. 

The SITA Council is also consulted on any other matter having a material impact on services provided to the SITA members. 

Finally, and very importantly, the SITA Council is tasked with gathering community opinions and reporting back to the community on their actions. 

SITA Council composition

The SITA Council is composed of up to 34 representatives, 20 from SITA's top 20 customers, up to 10 airline geographical group representatives and up to four industry-specific group representatives. 

The SITA Council is chaired by the Council President, who is a representative of a SITA member organization.  

The SITA Council has two standing committees:

  1. The Nomination Committee recommends SITA Board Directors and SITA Council President and Deputy President for appointment by the Annual General Assembly.
  2. The Membership Committee addresses membership policy and rules, as well as member admissions and expulsions.

SITA Council President

Ashish Jain

Senior Vice President - Group Safety & Security, Qatar Airways

Ashish JainAshish brings a wealth of international aviation experience to SITA. With over 25 years in the industry, he is a member of many leadership committees across the Qatar Airways Group. Ashish has introduced and overseen several governance frameworks such as the Safety, Security and Quality Management System, Enterprise Risk Management and the Business Resilience and Crisis Management Framework for the airline.

His recent successes include the development and implementation of Qatar Airways’ Network Operations Strategy, as well as overseeing the implementation of the new regulatory framework adopted by Qatar Civil Aviation Authority (QCAA).

Across his career, Ashish has exemplified an ability to lead and drive short- and long-term strategic initiatives through performing a large number of leadership roles. From managing World Sales to becoming the Senior Vice President of Group Safety and Security, Ashish’s career journey spans across multiple segments of aviation industry functions.

Ashish is a graduate of St. Xavier’s College, Calcutta, and holds an MBA from Cranfield School of Management, UK. 

Current composition of the SITA Council

  • Ashish Jain, Qatar Airways - President
  • Kerry Peirse, Cathay Pacific Airways - Deputy President
  • Radin Asrul Adza, representing the Airport Group (Malaysia Airports)
  • Martin Bordt, Cargolux Airlines International
  • Adib Charif, representing the Middle East & India Group (Middle East Airlines - Air Liban)
  • Kelly Cunningham, United Airlines
  • Abe Dev, Etihad Airways
  • Susan Doniz, Qantas Airways
  • Paul Elich, KLM
  • Sherine Fahmy, representing the Middle East & North Africa Group (Egyptair)
  • Siti Hafsah, Malaysia Airlines
  • Elizabeth Haun, British Airways / IAG
  • Andrew He, representing the North Asia Group (Hainan Airlines)
  • Omar Jefri, Saudi Arabian Airlines
  • Dirk John, LATAM Airlines Group
  • Laurent Jossart, representing the Southern Europe Group (Luxair)
  • Aleksey Kukanov, representing the CIS & Russia Group (Volga Dnepr)
  • Jean-Christophe Lalanne, Air France
  • Wayne Moss, Delta Air Lines
  • Ilia Perevalov, Aeroflot
  • Chris Clair, American Airlines
  • Jose Luis Quesadorepresenting the Latin America & Caribbean Group (LATAM Airlines Group)
  • Uma Maheswari Sudhakar, Air India
  • Eash Sundaram, representing the North America Group (JetBlue Airways)
  • Laeke Tadesse, representing the Sub-Saharan Africa Group (Ethiopian Airlines)
  • Angie Tinsay, representing the South Asia and Pacific Group (Philippine Airlines)
  • Arnaud van Rietschoten, Emirates
  • Brant Venice, United Parcel Service
  • George Wang, Singapore Airlines
  • Bardo Werum, Lufthansa
  • No representation for 2018/2019, Northern Europe Group

SITA Council committees


Recommends SITA Board Directors and SITA Council President and Deputy President for appointment by the Annual General Assembly

Current composition

  • Arnaud van Rietschoten, Emirates  (Co-Chair)
  • Brant Venice, United Parcel Service (Co-Chair)
  • Kelly Cunningham, United Airlines
  • Barbara Dalibard, SITA
  • Abe Dev, Etihad Airways
  • Elizabeth Haun, British Airways / IAG
  • Ashish Jain, Qatar Airways
  • Omar Jefri, Saudi Arabian Airlines
  • Laurent Jossart, representing the Southern Europe Group (Luxair)
  • Jean-Christophe Lalanne, Air France


Addresses membership policy and rules, as well as member admissions and expulsions

Current composition

  • Laurent Jossart, representing the Southern Europe Group (Luxair) - Chair
  • Radin Asrul Adza, representing the Airport Group (Malaysia Airports)
  • Martin Bordt, Cargolux Airlines International
  • Abe Dev, Etihad Airways
  • Ashish Jain, Qatar Airways

About SITA

Connect with us