SITA Council

The SITA Council plays a significant part in the overall governance of SITA, as a member representative body. It has the role of representing and safeguarding the interests of SITA's membership with the right of final approval over specific, important matters relating to the high-level direction of SITA.

The SITA Council will also be consulted on any other matter having a material impact on services provided to the SITA members.

Finally, and very importantly, the SITA Council is tasked with gathering community opinions and reporting back to the community on their actions.

The SITA Council is composed of up to 34 representatives, 20 from SITA's top 20 customers, 10 airline geographical group representatives and 4 industry specific group representatives.

The SITA Council is chaired by the Council President, who is a representative of a SITA member organization.

The SITA Council has two standing committees to focus on certain topics:

  1. The Nomination Committee recommends SITA Board Directors and SITA Council President and Deputy President for appointment by the Annual General Assembly.
  2. The Membership Committee addresses membership policy and rules, as well as member admissions and expulsions.

Current composition of the SITA Council

Jappe BlaauwKLM - President
Omar JefriSaudi Arabian Airlines - Deputy President
Meenakshi Agrawalrepresenting the Airport Group (MIAL)
Kemeredin Bedrurepresenting the Sub-Saharan Africa Group
(Ethiopian Airlines)
Matthew Billingsrepresenting the Northern Europe Group
(Virgin Atlantic Airways)
Hugh Noel DunleavyMalaysian Airline System
Osama Anwar Elsisirepresenting the Middle East & North Africa Group 2 (Egyptair)
Anton Ereminrepresenting the CIS & Russia Group
(Siberia Airlines)
Karamu FordAmerican Airlines
Richard ForsonCargolux
Jay FredericksDelta Air Lines
Takayuki FujiwaraAll Nippon Airways
Greg Gilchristrepresenting the ICT Group
Jassim Hajirepresenting the Middle East & North Africa Group 1 (Gulf Air)
Philip HawkerBritish Airways
Luc HennekensQantas Airways
Daniel HoQatar Airways
Laurent Jossartrepresenting the Southern Europe Group
Jean-Christophe LalanneAir France
Qiang Lirepresenting the North Asia and Pacific Group
(Air China)
Joe LocandroCathay Pacific Airways
Alessandro LoddoAlitalia
Sunita MarwahAir India
Bill Millerrepresenting the North America Group
(United Airlines)
Patrick NaefEmirates
Phinda NcalaSouth African Airways
Rob PutterEtihad Airways
Roland SchuetzLufthansa
Nelson Tapiarepresenting the Latin America & Caribbean Group (LATAM)
Brant VeniceUnited Parcel Services
George WangSingapore Airlines
Saroj YuttatriSouth Asia & India Group (Thai Airways)

SITA Council Committees

Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee mission is to provide recommendations to the SITA Council on the proposed appointment of Directors of the SITA Board and the appointment of the Council President and Deputy President.


  • Matthew Billings. representing the Northern Europe Group (Virgin Atlantic Airways)
  • Karamu Ford, American Airlines
  • Jay Fredericks, Delta Air Lines
  • Greg Gilchrist, representing the ICT Group (Sabre)
  • Daniel Ho, Qatar Airways
  • Brant Venice, United Parcel Services

Membership Committee

Handles Membership issues.


  • Matthew Billings, representing the Northern Europe Group (Virgin Atlantic Airways)
  • Jay Fredericks, Delta Air Lines
  • Philip Hawker, British Airways
  • Laurent Jossart, representing the Southern Europe Group (Luxair)
  • Bill Miller, representing the North America Group (United Airlines)